The Open Theatre (Det Åpne Teater)

The foundation The Open Theatre (Det Åpne Teater) was established in 1986 by Anne-May Nilsen. The Open Theatre was developed into the foundation  Dramatikkens hus which opened 31.12.2009. 

The productions linked to via this entry are productions co-produced by The Open Theatre (Det Åpne Teater). If you want to see complete lists of performances, please click on each venue.


(Objekt ID 2651)
Object type Organization
Also known as Now: Dramatikkens Hus
Organization type National institution
Main focus Theatre, Children and youths
Established January 1, 1986 (closed December 31, 2009)
Website Det Åpne Teater

Contact information

Address Tøyenbekken 34, 0188 Oslo, Norway

Other information

Legal entity Foundation
Org nr. 958 331 975

The Open Theatre (Det Åpne Teater) worked closely with playwrights in developing texts. The foundation arranged working communities, workshops and seminars with actors and other performing artists, while conveying texts for the whole theatrical community. The theatre established a wide international network and has completed several international playwright projects.

The Open Theatre (Det Åpne Teater) was among the organisations initiating an education offer for playwrights through Pilotprosjektet (literally: the Pilot Project), in collaboration with The National Theatre of Norway, The Norwegian Theatre and The National Academy of Theatre. For this effort, The Open Theatre (Det Åpne Teater), represented by project leader Ragnhild Mærli, was nominated for The Hedda Award 2002 in the open category.

The Open Theatre (Det Åpne Teater) also was nominated for The Hedda Award 2001, open category, for its role as a starting point for new Norwegian drama and playwrights.

The Open Theatre (Det Åpne Teater) initiated DUS (Den Unge Scenen, the Norwegian response to the British theatre for youth project Connections) in collaboration with The Norwegian Theatre.


The Open Theatre (Det Åpne Teater),, 03.10.2010:

Sceneweb on The Hedda Award 2002,, 06.11.2012,

Sceneweb on The Hedda Award 2001,, 08.11.2012,

Awards - Nominations (1)
Contributors (3)
Franzisca Aarflot – Theatre director (fra 1999 til 2008)
Ragnhild Mærli – Dramaturge (fra 1998 til 2009)
Anne-May Nilsen – Manager (fra 1983 til 1999)