Kristin Lavransdatter

Kristin Lavransdatter is a three-volume novel cycle by Sigrid Undset. The name is used about the full trilogy, consisting of The Bridal Wreath AKA The Wreath (Norwegian edition: Kransen, 1920), The Mistress of Husaby AKA The Wife (Norwegian edition: Husfrue, 1921), and The Cross (Norwegian edition: Korset, 1922).

When Sigrid Undset won The Nobel Prize in Literature in 1928, the trilogy was a main reason. In the reason for the award it was said that she got it '...principally for her powerful descriptions of Northern life during the Middle Ages...'.


(Objekt ID 4234)
Object type Artwork
Original title Kransen, Husfrue, Korset
Work type Literature