Winnie the Pooh

Winnie the Pooh (Norwegian: Ole Brumm) is a teddy bear Alan Alexander Milne wrote several collection of stories about. The first book was called Winnie-the-Pooh and was published in 1926 (Norwegian translation called Ole Brumm in 1932), followed by The House at Pooh Corner in 1928 (Norwegian translation called Ole Brumm og vennene hans, literally: Winnie the Pooh and his friends, 1947).

All in all there are now some 70 published Winnie the Pooh books in Norwegian.

The first translation was done by Rikka Bjølgerud Deinboll, the second by Mathilde Oftedal, but during the 1970es Thorbjørn Egner wrote new, edited and shortened translations. In 1993 Tor Åge Bringsværd and Marianne Koch Knudsen published a new, revised and complete translation of the first two books, the second of which got the title Huset på Bjørnehiet (literally: The House by the Bear Burrow, more similar to The House at Pooh Corner).

A.A. Milne's book of poems called When We Were Very Young from 1924 also contains a poem about Winnie the Pooh, and in the poetry book Now We Are Six there are several verses one can connect to Pooh and his friends. These verses came in Norwegian translation in 1993 and 1994, translated by Tor Edvin Dahl under the book titles Da vi var veldig små (literally: When We Were Very Small) and Nå er vi seks (Now We Are Six).

In Den Store Ole Brumm-boka (literally, The Great Book of Winnie the Pooh, published by Gyldendal, 1995), all of A. A. Milne's Winnie the Pooh texts are collected in Norwegian translation. The translations by Bringsværd and Dahl are those used in this book.

All the books were originally illustrated by E. H. Shepard.Later also the Disney conglomerate has made its versions of Winnie the Pooh.


(Objekt ID 21740)
Object type Artwork
Original title Winnie-the-Pooh, The House at Pooh Corner, When We Were Very Young, Now We Are Six
Work type Literature
Original language English