Title File type Publiseringsdato Download
Program til Leopard i parken, sommerteater i Frognerparken (2003) pdf 2003 Download

Cato Skimten Storengen

Cato Skimten Storengen (born November 8 1980) is a Norwegian actor.

Cato Skimten Storengen started his career as an amateur actor and director in his home village Hedalen in Valdres, and he chose to specialise in music, dance and drama in upper secondary school.

In 2000 he was accepted at The National Academy of Theatre and in 2004 he made his debut at Rogaland Theatre in the role of T. Steadman Harder in A Moon for the Misbegotten.


(Objekt ID 5787)
Object type Person
Born Navember 8, 1980
Functions Actor
Nationality Norwegian
Gender Male

At Rogaland Theatre Cato Skimten Storengen has taken part in the grand project Nicholas Nickleby, and he played Don José in Dutch Oscar van Woensel's Carmen in 2005. He also took part in Richard III, White Nights, Tape, Skyfri himmel* (Cloud-free Sky) and Journey to the Christmas Star before he the autumn of 2007 went on leave from the theatre to play Frank N. Furter in The Rocky Horror Show at Nordland Theatre.

After returning to Rogaland Theatre he also played in Arne Lygre's Man without Purpose (2008) Shakespeare's The Tempest (2009), Little Shop of Horrors (2010) and Yngve Sundvor's Sladder* (Gossip, 2009) and Frykten (The Fear, 2010).

Cato Skimten Storengen was nominated to The Hedda Award 2008 in the category of best leading actor for the role of Frank N. Furter in The Rocky Horror Show, directed by Kim Sørensen, Nordland Theatre.

Cato Skimten Storengen is a member of the independent theatre company StatsTeatret.

The complete ensembles of the productions The Lady from the Sea and Perplex at Rogaland Theatre won The Hedda Award 2014 in the special artistic achievement category. Cato Skimten Storengen acted in The Lady from the Sea, collaborating with Nina Ellen Ødegård, Helga Guren, Lars Funderud Johannessen, Glenn André Kaada and Ingrid Rusten. In Perplex the performers were Ingrid Rusten, Ragnhild Mønnes, Svein Solenes and Øystein Martinsen.

The Hedda Jury gave the following reason:

"The jury is free to decide if to give out a Hedda Award in the special artistic achievement category. This year the jury wishes to do so. The award doesn't go to a director, stage designer or playwright. Nor is it given to a single actor. Based on two productions at one and the same theatre the award goes to the full cast for their ensemble play.

The jury wants to honour the interaction between actors; the collective process lifting the individual's strong performance to theatre experiences of particular quality and value. One of the productions is a classic, the other a modern play. In both cases we found in the interaction a clarity and a naturalism demanding generosity and a feeling of security in the cast. This collective is a condition for the theatre.

The special artistic achievement award goes to the full ensembles of the productions The Lady from the Sea and Perplex at Rogaland Theatre."


The Hedda Award

Rogaland Theatre


The Hedda Award 2014, www.heddaprisen.no, 16.06.2014, http://www.heddaprisen.no/pub/heddaprisen/main/?aid=1266

*Not yet translated into English. The title within parentheses is the Norwegian title's literal meaning.


2000-2004  Actor study at The National Academy of Theatre

Affiliations (1)