quiet red

quiet red by karen foss quiet works was the second part of a trilogy consisting of pearl simply, quiet red and europa woman. It sprang out from four of Shakespeare's sonets (no. 18, 27, 54 og 130). A full-length performance using two performers, music/sound, text and theatre sound and space.


(Objekt ID 2001)
Object type Production
Premiere April 29, 2004
Produced by karen foss quiet works
Coproducers BIT Teatergarasjen, Carte Blanche
Based on The Sonnets by William Shakespeare
Audience Youth, Adults (from 14)
Language Norwegian and English
Expressions Multidisciplinary, Dance, Performance, Theatre, Contemporary dance
Running period April 29, 2004  
Website karen foss quiet works

Requirements to venue

Minimum stage width 8m
Minimum stage depth 8m
Minimum stage height 7m
Blackout Yes
Rigging time 600 minutes

quiet red by karen foss quiet works springs out from love poems by William Shakespeare.

"Lo thus by day my limb, by night my mind, for thee and for myself, no quiet find" is an excerpt from sonnet no. 27, a travel poem by Shakespeare, in which he writes about love the way he feel it in body and mind. In his sonnet no. 54 Shakespeare reflects on aspects of love, time, vanity, beauty and death – wide-reaching issues poetically and succinctly presented in a total of 12 lines and a couplet.

quiet red by karen foss quiet works is the second part of the pearl trilogy. It embodied a technical discourse of the poems, propelled the two performers into personal ponderings about love as a large and confusing entity and ended with a quiet monologue about love in our present times - its forms of generosity, sorrow and longing. The piece highlighted the intimacy and closeness between the two main performers as they slowly intertwined with lovers hovering in the background. The English and Norwegian text was written and performed by Suzie Davies and Karen Foss.

quiet red by karen foss quiet works received support from Arts Council Norway, The Audio Visual Fund and The Fund for Performing Artists in Norway.


karen foss quiet works, karenfossquietworks.no, 01.08.2010,


Contributors (14)
Name Role
Karen Foss – Concept/Idea
Karen Foss – Choreography
Antti Sakari Saario – Music
Katrine Nylund – Stage design
Katrine Nylund – Costume design
Katrine Nylund – Costume
Antti Sakari Saario – Sound design
Suzie Davies – Performer
Karen Foss – Performer
Yvonne Øyen – Performer
Alan Lucien Øyen – Performer
Indrani Balgobin – Other
Anne Regine Klovholt – Other
Stephen Rolfe – Other
Performance dates