The Four Temperaments – Apollon Musagète – Symphony in C

The Four Temperaments – Apollon Musagète – Symphony in C (1968) was a ballet production by The Norwegian National Opera. The production was performed on The Norwegian National Opera’s main stage in Folketeateret. The production comprised 3 ballets choreographed by George Balanchine:

The Four Temperaments, music by Paul Hindemith.

Apollon Musagète, music by Igor Stravinsky.

Symphony in C, to music by Georges Bizet.


(Objekt ID 118274)
Object type Production
Premiere October 18, 1968
Produced by The Norwegian National Opera & Ballet
Based on The Four Temperaments by George Balanchine, Paul Hindemith; Apollon Musagète by George Balanchine, Igor Stravinskij; Symphony in C by George Balanchine, Georges Bizet
Audience Adults
Keywords Ballet


Anne-Margrethe Skari’s private archive. Donated by Anne-Margrethe Skari, 17.11.2021

Contributors (6)
Name Role
George Balanchine – Choreography (De fire temperamenter)
Arvid Fladmoe – Musical direction (De fire temperamenter)
Zdenko Peharda – Musical direction (Apollon Musagete / Symfoni i C)
Georges Bizet – Music (Symfoni i C)
Paul Hindemith – Music (De fire temperamenter )
Igor Stravinskij – Music (Apollon Musagete)
Performance dates
October 18, 1968Hovedscenen i Folketeaterbygningen Season premiere/Seasonal opening