Othello (1908) was a theatre production by The National Theatre, based on the tragedy by William Shakespeare.

Halfdabn Christensen directed it.

Egil Eide interpreted the role of Othello. 

Doris Johannessen interpreted the role of Desdemona.

Harald Stormoen interpreted the role of Iago.


(Objekt ID 92590)
Object type Production
Premiere October 22, 1908
Produced by The National Theatre
Based on Othello by William Shakespeare
Audience Adults
Language Norwegian
Expressions Tragedy, Theatre
Running period October 22, 1908  

Requirements to venue

Blackout No
Name Role
William Shakespeare – Playwright
Halfdan Christensen – Direction
Jens Wang – Stage design
Andreas Bloch – Costume design
Sigurd Asmundsen – Actor (Første senator)
Egil Eide – Actor (Othello)
Sigurd Eldegard – Actor (Roderigo)
Nicolai Halvorsen – Actor (Brabantio)
Borgny Hammer – Actor (Emilie)
Doris Johannessen – Actor (Desdemona)
Øivind Johr – Actor (Tredje adelsmann)
Johannes Juel – Actor (Annen senator)
Sigurd Magnussøn – Actor (Annen adelsmann)
Ludvig Müller – Actor (Ludovico)
Thorleif Sohlberg – Actor (Første adelsmann)
Harald Stormoen – Actor (Jago)
Gustav Thomassen – Actor (Montano)
Gunnar Tolnæs – Actor (Cassio)
Olav Voss – Actor (Herugen av Venedig)
Other participants
Performance dates
October 22, 1908 – Opening night
Press coverage