Four Pieces including Sjoa and Skjåk

Four Pieces including Sjoa and Skjåk (2004) by Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt was a fresh look at the relationship between the sublime and the ordinary. The ballet had rapid changes of mood, rhythm and choreographic language. Three male and two female dancers were the source of a number of familiar and unfamiliar constellations in the relationship between the role figures. And each time the spectator felt she was beginning to grasp a comfortably recognisable picture of reality, the atmosphere suddenly took a new turn and she was forced to sharpen her wits and ask herself new questions.


(Objekt ID 5324)
Object type Production
Premiere March 6, 2004
Produced by Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt,
Coproducers TANZ Bremen
Audience Adults
Expressions Dance, Classical ballet, Contemporary dance
Running period March 6, 2004  
Duration 60 minutes
Website Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt

A distinguishing mark of Ingun Bjørnsgaard’s choreographic language is her combination of classical and modern dance and a play on genres. In some parts of Four Pieces including Sjoa and Skjåk the choreography almost slided into a narrative, but these dramatic situations were continually interspersed with abstract passages. And as always, the choreography unfolded accompanied by Bjørnsgaard’s inscrutable smile, while dark and unfathomable forces seethed under the surface.

Per Henrik Svalastog, Rolf Wallin and Henrik Hellstenius composed an original score for the performance. All three have long experience in working with Bjørnsgaard, but this was the first time they collaborated on one and the same production. The result was a pulsating sound score in which the three composers’ works “merged into” each other.

Four Pieces including Sjoa and Skjåk by Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt was supported by Arts Council Norway, the Norwegian Fund for Performing Artists and the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.


Ingun Bjørnsgaard Prosjekt,, 15.08.2010,

Contributors (15)
Name Role
Ingun Bjørnsgaard – Choreography
Henrik Hellstenius – Composition
Per Henrik Svalastog – Composition
Rolf Wallin – Composition
Thomas Björk – Stage design
Thomas Björk – Costume design
Morten Pettersen – Sound design
Ken Ruben Theodorsen – Sound design
Jean Vincent Kerebel – Lighting design
Christopher Arouni – Dancer
Sigrid Edvardsson – Dancer
Lars Jacob Holm – Dancer
Erik Rulin – Dancer
Lone Torvik – Dancer
Halldis Ólafsdóttir – Dancer
Performance dates
April 16, 2005BIT Teatergarasjen – Show
April 15, 2005BIT Teatergarasjen – Show
2005Store Sal, Bærum Kulturhus – Show
2005The Main Hall, Sandnes Kulturhus – Show
2005Hovedscenen, Drammens teater
  • )
– Show
2005Moderna Dansteatern – Show
March 16, 2004Scene 2 – National premiere, Norway
March 6, 2004 , TANZ Bremen – Worldwide premiere
2004Scalateatern, Karlstad – Show
2004Das Meininger Theater – Show
2004Duet Komischer Oper – Show
Festivals (1)
TANZ Bremen March 6, 2004