The International Ibsen Award

The International Ibsen Award honours an individual, institution or organisation that has brought new artistic dimensions to the world of drama or theatre. The committee consists of senior figures in the international theatre community. It was established by the Norwegian government in 2008.

The winner is announced on Ibsen's birthday, 20th March, and the prize is of NOK 2.5 millions. It is awarded at the Norwegian National Theatre's Ibsen festival every other year.

The first laureate was Peter Brook who received the prize on 31 August 2008 during the Ibsen Festival at the Norwegian National Theatre in Oslo. The chair of the jury was Liv Ullmann until Per Boye-Hansen took over in 2010. In 2011 the prize was made biennial, with the next awarding scheduled for September 2012.