Waiting for Godot

Premiére date16 Apr. 2005
Produced byThe National Theatre
Based onWaiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett
ExpressionsTheatre of the absurd, Theatre
Running period16 Apr. 2005  

About Waiting for Godot

Waiting for Godot (2005) was a theatre production by The National Theatre, based on the play by Samuel Beckett. The production was performed in the theatre's venue Amfiscenen (The Amphi Stage), before it was transferred to the main stage due to audience demand.

Stein Winge directed it.

Toralv Maurstad played the role of Vladimir. He was awarded with Honorary Hedda 2005.

Espen Skjønberg played the role of Estragon. He was awarded with Honorary Hedda 2005.

Read more


View less

View all

Performance dates

  • Images (0)
  • Video (0)
  • Audio (0)
  • Files (0)

    More about Waiting for Godot

    Waiting for Godot by The National Theatre started its run at Amfiscenen (the Amphi stage) in February 2005, but the audience interest was so great it was transferred to the main stage the same autumn. Extra performances were programmed for 2007.

    Toralv Maurstad and Espen Skjønberg interpreted the roles of Vladimir and Estragon and they both got Honorary Hedda 2005.

    The Hedda Jury gave the following reason:

    "Honorary Hedda is not to be given out annually, but only when the jury is simply not unable not to give it out. This was said by the jury the first time the award was given out - to Wenche Foss in 2002. The next year the jury couldn't abstain, either, and the Honorary Award went toJon Fosse. Last year the jury stuck to its word: No Honorary Hedda was given out.

    We make up for it this year. With not just one award, but two. To two unique personalities, who both have long experience from Norwegian theatre, and who have both become living legends. For more than 50 years they have delighted Norwegians - onstage, naturally, but also on cinema screens and through TV. This year they do it again, and the audience's warmth and love meet them: Ever since the opening there has hardly been an available ticket for their - for now - last achievement.

    Honorary Hedda goes to Espen Skjønberg and Toralv Maurstad."


    The National Theatre, Waiting for Godot, www.nationaltheatret.no, 17.10.2012, http://fdb.nationaltheatret.no/S%C3%B8k/tabid/57/ctl/PlayView/mid/374/oppsetningId/0d915afb-5a93-4199-b98a-94e4ef2d77e6/Default.aspx

    Sceneweb on The Hedda Award 2005, www.sceneweb.no, 17.10.2012, http://www.sceneweb.no/en/awarding/23849/The_Hedda_Award_2005-2005